Into The Streets

photo by Christopher George Hughes

This should have been a big one. In the past it would have been.

The tribes were gathering, the stage was set.

The bombs were already exploding in south Portland.

Instead, I just felt old.

The futility of the whole scene was running strong.

As was the realization that things are not changing.

The pre-action meal of beans and rice and water with protest songs and punk rock failed to lift my spirits. It was cold and rainy, and I felt like we should all take a step back for a group nap or something along those lines.

No, instead out into the cold and the rain to watch kids get beaten by cops, to chant and scream to no avail.

Here’s to you, and your misguided dreams.

And then I went, and I marched for four hours in the cold and the rain, and it was fantastic. My faith was restored in the fire of the youth. I came home literally dripping, starving, with a smile on my face. A write up is soon to follow.

Whose streets? Our streets.

About the protest…
The Oregonian
Indymedia
Photos by Hit and Run Journalism

2 responses to “Into The Streets

  1. Every day, Sean, I get more and more proud of you and what you’ve not only set out to do, but have DONE.

  2. Sean – looking forward to the more detailed write-up you mentioned.

    On this subject, I am a bit torn. I don’t know enough about the events in Portland that triggered this protest, but we had similar events come up in San Francisco and Oakland in the last few years.

    In some cases, outrage was absolutely the right response. A cop seemed to obviously have made terrible mistakes, whether through incompetence, bias or just malice, and it caused tragic events.

    In other cases, I find myself siding with the police department. There was one particular march for an Oakland man who who shot down by OPD, who was a felon and had definitely made the cops feel like their life was in danger.

    Obviously, training to disarm and neutralize a threat without lethal force is ideal, but I do believe that there are occasions (maybe many) where that is not an option. Police officers are just people, and while they need to be held to a very high standard while on the job, they are still susceptible to fear of attack.

    Again, I do not know about the Portland case, but after following the link that you provided and reading the debate going on in the comment section, I do think that police (in general) are deserving of more respect and forgiveness than many of the people involved in the protest were willing to give them.

Leave a Reply

