Faith vs Work

I’m a very strong believer in having faith.  Having faith in life, faith in my friends, faith in the strangers I meet on the street.  But more than anything, I have faith that things will work out for the best.  And that’s a dangerous thing.  It’s a dangerous trap to fall into.  You can’t always send positive vibes out, and just expect good things to come back to you.  It certainly doesn’t hurt to have faith, but faith is only half of it.  There is also the rest of it.

At some point it hit me that no matter how much positive energy I send out, I can’t sit around waiting for good things to fall into my lap.  There is also the putting in work part.  The long hours and the grind that every successful person knows.  This is a fact of life, and something I’d forgotten about.

No one is going to hand you a job, a contract, a life out of nowhere.  These are things you have to work for.  This is the getting up early part.  The long nights, the struggle, the grind.  These are the failures that you don’t dwell on, because you get back up the next morning, and do it all over again.  This is putting yourself out there, and taking chances.  Having hope, having faith in long shots, but putting in the hours that no one knows about.  All the work that goes along with it.

I know this life, I used to embrace it.  But somewhere along the line, I’d forgotten the rules to this game.  Maybe it was traveling, where you have to take things easy, and not get too upset when things don’t go as planned, because there is literally nothing you can do about it.  I think maybe that carried over when I came back to the States.  This complacency, this outlook that things will always work out in the end.  And then you wake up one day, and you know what you want, but you have no idea how to get it.  And you’re not sure how’ve you gotten to this particular spot in life.  That’s where the work part comes in.

Career, relationships, happiness in your personal life, they all follow the same rules.  You won’t just land that dream job without the long hours at thankless internships and entry level positions.  She won’t love you just because you want her to.  You won’t wake up with a happy, fulfilled life just because you’re a good person.  No one is going to hand you a book deal because you put up a couple blog posts every now and again.

Having hopes and dreams are important in life.  Turning those into measurable goals are the key.  Grinding it out, and taking chances are a necessary part of the process.  I remember that now.  I’m not scared of work.  I’m not scared of the overnight shift, or the double shift, or working weeks without time off.  I’m not scared of working full days for someone else, coming home exhausted, and then putting in countless more hours for me.  Writing, typing, revising, editing, posting, and then typing some more.  I’m not scared to go without sleep.  Sometimes that’s the only way.

You’ve got to keep the faith, but you’ve got to put in the work too.  You’ve got to be a good person, but you’ve also got to grind.  You’ve got to have dreams, but you’ve got to put in the hours to turn them into reality.  You’ve got to take chances and put yourself out there, but you’ve got to get up early the next morning and do it all again when things don’t go exactly as you’ve hoped.

Keep the faith, but in the meantime, put the hours in.  It’ll all work out, but only if you work hard enough for it.

Amazing inspirational video, I want to wake up in the mornings and brush my teeth with this video. This clip came to me via my bud Martin who writes at Siempre Mejorando, take a second to check him out.

5 responses to “Faith vs Work

  1. Goddamn that video still gives me goose bumps. Nice post Sean. Time to get busy.

  2. Damn, this was exactly what I needed to read today.

  3. One of my favorite quotes ever is this one from Alice Sebold:

    A difficult lesson, which I fought at every turn, is that what often must substitute for faith is discipline. Faith has a lovely ease about it, an ethereal ring. Discipline is the rod, the staff, your insecurities internalized and sprouting rules and limits on your life. Why can’t I just have faith that books will be completed? Why isn’t faith alone enough? I hear my Southern roots respond. Faith doesn’t dig ditches, they say; faith doesn’t scrape the burn from the bottom of the pot. Ultimately, faith gives freedom, and discipline, its sister, makes sure the job gets done.

    Your post reminded me of this.

  4. Lovely, the video is perfect for what you wrote. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

